Did Anthony Bennett Make a Fucking Basket Already?!

Posted: November 7, 2013 in Sports
Tags: , , , , , ,
Bennett: The Human Highlight Reel

Bennett: The Human Highlight Reel

NY Times- But there was one first that he needed five games to obtain: his first basket. Entering Wednesday’s game against the Milwaukee Bucks, Bennett was shooting 0 for 15 from the field. But he snapped his ignominious slump midway through the second quarter by swishing a 3-pointer — it was his only field goal in five attempts — in a 109-104 loss to the Bucks.

Hey slow down, Shooter! What’s the big hurry here? You have a long solid NBA career ahead of you. You’re the #1 overall pick, you can take your time with these things. Normally draining huge 3’s in the 2nd quarter of a meaningless early November game is something you keep in your back pocket for when you really need it. Don’t make us think you’re going to be this clutch all the time! I mean, I’m resisting the temptation to pencil you in for a long 2 against the Bobcats on the 15th, but you’re making it impossible NOT to be jacked out of my mind waiting to see it! Plus it’ll be your first basket in front of a home crowd! The roof might come off the Q that night!
Did you at least keep the ball? That thing better be sitting on the mantle as we speak. And if I don’t see it for sale on EBay some day your whole career is a failure.
But don’t worry, all of this excitement will pass soon enough and you can continue doing what you were brought here to do. Shoot it! My best advice would be to just keep shooting, but I guarantee you’re already working on that. I know 2 things for sure in my life:
1.) I am writing a blog
2.) Anthony Bennett is shooting a basketball right now.
He rolls out of bed shooting. He works on his fade away on the team plane, he launches 3’s in the shower. He shoots another 100 with the opposite hand on the car ride home. And he gets it all done with 19 left on the shot clock. The man hustles, and that’s what I like about him. But if I start to see those ugly A’s creep up in the stat line I’ll know he’s not shooting enough. I’ll be waiting for basket #2 in 8 days. Don’t disappoint me.

 

Ken

Leave a Reply

