untitled
Deadline- Alcon Entertainment has cast the Johnny Utah to Gerard Butler‘s Bodhi in the upcoming Point Break remake. Luke Bracey (G.I. Joe: Retaliation) will star opposite Butler in the updated of Kathryn Bigelow’s 1991 bro-action classic, which is being directed by Invincible‘s Ericson Core. Kurt Wimmer (Salt, Total Recall) scripted the pic which sees the original Keanu Reeves-Patrick Swayze starrer updated from a surfer-scene setting to the world of extreme sports. Aussie actor Bracey played Cobra Commander last year in G.I. Joe: Retaliation and stars in the upcoming Nicholas Sparks adaptation The Best Of Me. Point Break is produced by Alcon’s Andrew Kosove and Broderick Johnson alongside John Baldecchi, Taylor and Kurt Wimmer. RGM Media’s Devesh Chetty and Marloss Entertainment’s John McMurrick will executive produce. Filming begins this summer. Bracey is repped by CAA, ROAR and Mark Morrissey & Associates.

This is the move I figured they would make but not the route I wanted them to go. I have no clue who this guy is but I thought the casting people would go for an unknown and they did. Personally I would’ve liked to see someone that is actually a known actor outside of Australian soap operas but that’s why no one pays me to do this instead of paying me to cast movies. I still think trying to mess with a cult classic is a bad idea but only time will tell with this one. Since it is action sports and all that jazz I expect to see some bad ass visuals and based on the casting they aren’t trying to “out-act” the original Utah and Bodhi, RIP Bodhi.

PS If they don’t bring back Busey, I will boycott this thing straight to hell.
PSS I guess this kid is fucking Selena Gomez so that’s pretty cool for him

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

