imagesQULOO4NZ
ESPN- LaMarr Woodley, one of several high-profile free agents signed by the Oakland Raiders this offseason, believes his new team will end its 11-year postseason drought. “I can definitely see [the Raiders] as a playoff team,” Woodley said Tuesday during a radio interview with 95.7 The Game. “Last year, going back and watching some film on the Raiders, there were a lot of opportunities here where they just didn’t close it out.” The Raiders went 4-12 in 2013, their 11th consecutive season without a winning record. Oakland has not reached the postseason since appearing in Super Bowl XXXVII following the 2002 season. “Some games good in the first half, they just didn’t close it out at the end of the game,” the pass-rusher told 95.7 The Game. “So now we just have to learn how to close out games, and it’ll be more wins than losses.” Tuck, who won two Super Bowls during his nine-year stint with the New York Giants, also is excited about potentially reviving the Raiders. “A lot of people always say you go to Oakland for your career to die,” Tuck said. “I’m not looking at it like that. I’m looking at it like this is an opportunity to revive a storied franchise in a city with a great fan base behind this football team. The energy and excitement around this football team should be good. I’m excited about it.”

Am I excited about this upcoming season for the Raiders? Yes as I am every year. Does that optimism disappear right after the opening kick off of week one? Without a doubt. I love that the new vet FAs that Reggie brought it are all gung-ho about being a better team and making the playoffs but saying it ‘definitely’ will happen is like saying I will ‘definitely’ get laid tonight and I ‘definitely’ will last longer than 3 minutes. Hope for the best, expect the worst. There is a reason these vets didn’t get signed by other teams and I hope they can put it together but who knows what will happen when the season comes. And I can speak for Raider Nation when I say “Stop predicting things will happen and just win 5 games” That is all we ask for at this point, just win more than 4 fucking games and give me a reason to NOT kill myself come October.

Schedule release happens tonight at 8pm if you didn’t know.

-Jesse

Leave a Reply

