Nick Chubb’s Knee Injury is a Sight to Behold

Posted: October 11, 2015 in Sports

IMG_4621

Well there it is. Your classic, “kick yourself in the face, you’re going to have to learn how to walk again, tore every ligament in your body, how is that even possible, life threatening leg injury.”

If you’ve read this blog for any amount of time you know that I have a special place in my heart for horrific knee injuries. It’s better than watching car crashes because they’re almost always on camera and available to watch frame by frame in slow motion. You can analyze and savor every last millisecond over and over until you  either climax or your laptop dies. No matter what I start off watching on Youtube I always end up in the “Life ending soccer knee injury” section.

So pour yourself a glass of bourbon, settle in and enjoy starring at this picture for the rest of the night with me.

Gruesomely Yours,

Ken

Obviously this is a terrible injury and I hope he’s ok and can come back from it. Hell, I’m sure the Browns will draft him next year and I’ll be wearing his jersey in less than a year from now. But you have to understand my fascination with these injuries have nothing to do with the person or any kind of life altering ramifications they may cause. It’s purely a visual euphoria that makes every last synapse in my brain fire off like it’s the 4th of July. It’s like appreciating a Picasso, you know both eyes don’t belong on one side of the face but it looks so beautiful when it’s done with some artistic ability. Likewise, I know a human’s leg should never look like a gazelle’s back leg, but when they can pull it off you can’t help but appreciate it. Life is art, man! You just have to keep your eyes open or you’ll miss it!

Having suffered a couple of knee injuries myself I know some of the pain he’ll be enduring in the future. However unlike me, he’ll be returning to his competitive athletic form, where as I just wanted to learn how to walk in a straight line without a limp and be able to golf again without my leg folding in half on my follow through. It’s all about quality of life when you’re not a star athlete.

Leave a Reply

